1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Storage External HDD/NAS suggestions, please!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jesthar, 3 Jan 2016.

1. Jesthar

Jesthar What's a Dremel?

Hi all, long time lurker (been reading CPC since it came out!) in need of a bit of (hopefully quick!) advice :)

First off, I'm after an external HDD for basic backup purposes - any brands come recommended/to avoid at the moment?

Secondly, I'd like to clear me some space on my 750GB Win7 laptop hard drive (my only computer at the moment) by offloading a big chunk of the myriad files to some form of NAS. Mainly audio and photos (which there will be more of as I have acquired a better camera :D), work files, a few home movie clips but no films or anything like that. I'd want to play the music back from the laptop, potentially a couple of other devices.

Although I'm a geek by trade I'm not really a hardwear/config confident type, so to keep things simple I've been eyeing the Synology DS215j - thoughts/suggestions on good hard drives to pair with it and/or potential alternatives very welcome! :) Essential requirements as follows:

• Quiet (tiny, open plan house!)
    • Small footprint (again, tiny, open plan house!)
    • Energy efficient
    • Easy to set up
    • A decent amount of spare capacity
    • Don't really want to stray too far over the £300 mark if possible

Thanks!

~Jes :)

2. deathtaker27

deathtaker27 Modder

Have you got any old PC parts you can reuse?

3. Jesthar

Jesthar What's a Dremel?

Not really, sorry, haven't had a desktop since my first (and only) homebuild, and that was back in the days when AMD was king of the processors and a 9GB hard drive was considered huge overkill ;)

4. deathtaker27

deathtaker27 Modder

I would see if you can grab a microserver, stuff some drives in it and install freenas/nas4free/openmediavault they will do everything you will need and are pretty simple to use :)