1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Storage The HP Micro Server Thread

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tibby, 22 Nov 2011.

1. Pookie

Pookie Illegitimi non carborundum

Interesting, but then so many NAS systems ship with identical drives and as does pretty much every pre built server from HP/Dell etc. Hands up who has RAID arrays filled with WD reds?

There is that chance that they could all come from a faulty batch so by mixing brands you reduce that risk I suppose, it sounds like you have been stung Mr Halfacre?

Btw backups are for wimps :p

2. Gareth Halfacree

Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Lover of bit-tech Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

Nup, 'cos I never use identical drives. Back when I was a sysadmin, though, I had to support people who were hit by failures like the infamous Seagate firmware flaw that caused drives to die after X number of hours - meaning that servers that had arrays built from the same drives which had, obviously, been running for the same length of time went 'poof.' Bye-bye, data.

That's even ignoring the bathtub curve: drives from the same batch purchased at the same time and run in the same environment storing the same data will, naturally, fail in clusters, even if there's no fault. For me, it's just not worth the risk when it's so easy to buy differing drives and spread the risk.

3. Pookie

Don't suppose anyone has the last BIOS update HP released to hand? I am trying to get 2012 R2 running but it won't boot with the onboard NIC enabled:wallbash: it's a well known issue and updating the BIOS should sort it.

I can't even find the HP support page for the N36L :sigh:

4. David

David μoʍ ɼouმ qᴉq λon ƨbԍuq ϝʁλᴉuმ ϝo ʁԍɑq ϝμᴉƨ

Looks like 2012 R2 was a problem for all the Gen7 Microservers.

Pook, have a look at this HSS thread. Post #51.

5. Pookie

No link :(

6. Atomic

Atomic Gerwaff

7. Pookie

Last edited: 5 Mar 2016
  8. David