1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other The Quadcopter/Drone/Multirotor Thread

Discussion in 'General' started by Byron C, 4 Mar 2017.

1. BrokenJaw

BrokenJaw What's a Dremel?

Calling it a dog's breakfast is a bit harsh. That's quite a standard look for these types of quads (just look at Creative's wall of quads above). Sticking on a plastic body shell does nothing but add weight. Unnecessary weight means shorter flight times.

2. stuartpb

stuartpb Modder

I fly drones for a living. I'm a PfCO holder, having completed the RPQ-s course and writing my OSC etc. I also fly as a hobby in down time too. One thing I haven't tried yet is flying the 250 class racing drones. I really fancy making one though. I've built a few 500 class drones but they weren't made for throwing about. I started out on a £30 job so I could learn the basics and then moved up to the self build 500's, then a P3P and on to the Inspire. I'm currently looking at building a S900 or S1000, so I can carry my DSLR gear. It's a great hobby but soon turns expensive when it gets a hold of you :D

3. creative

creative 500rwhp

Do it! Its great fun!

Managed to get out this weekend for the first time in 3 weeks. Back on the bench for minor repairs! :D I also noticed some of my batteries are starting to show their age a bit so time to look up whats out there for new ones!

Hopefully for next weeks adventure I will have new hall effect gimbals in the transmitter and my Lowrider will be back together after fixing the voltage regs.

BrokenJaw

You need to get on 4s!

4. BrokenJaw

4s batteries are on my list of upgrades (along with some 30A Dshot ESCs).

I started with 3s as I had never flown anything before I built this, and all the advice I could find online said that it would make an easier learning curve (I think it has).