1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – Complete (Completed) Codename WarpDrv ▒▒❚❚❚❚╫

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by thomasz, 3 Jun 2017.

1. thomasz

thomasz What's a Dremel?

[​IMG]

Hello community! As a beginner here I present you a workstation I built for my own use: Codename "WarpDrv". It is already completed. I am going to slowly post pictures before tagging it as "completed".

[​IMG]

Hightlights:
    • Made use of a server board with unconventional form factor and cable pinout (volt modding). The design can be generalized to this type of boards.
    • Highly compact (18L) yet hosting load of parts (2 CPUs, 16 DIMMs, 2 SSDs, 4 HDDs).
    • No part was made solely for aesthetic purpose. The aesthetic feeling was achieved by choosing and organizing basic hardware.
    • No hi-tech was involved in building this. Any people (like me, a campus dweller) can do it in their dorm in spare time.

In summary, what I am presenting is not a piece of artwork (if it pleases your eyes, thank you!), but a novel layout or category of customized computers, which I hope is worth adoption and further development.

Here are some finish pictures:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Dimensions:
    • Main body: 50.9cm * 16.7cm * 17.8cm (w/o HDD) / 21.6cm (w/ HDD) = 15.13L / 18.36L
    • Cover (fairing): 60.0cm * 21.0cm * 23.3cm = 29.36L

Part list:
    • Motherboard: Dell PowerEdge C8220 server board
    • CPU: 2x Xeon E5-2680 (16C32T)
    • Memory: 256GB (16*16) DDR3 ECC REG
    • Storage: 2x OCZ Deneva 2 400GB SSD + 4x WD RE4 2.0TB HDD
    • Graphics: ATI Radeon 5450
    • PSU: Corsair RM650x (full modular)
    • Cooling: 2x Zalman CNPS9900 DF + 1x 200mm Corsair case fan

Last edited: 1 Jul 2017
  2. thomasz

thomasz What's a Dremel?