1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What happened in Vegas.

Discussion in 'Serious' started by RedFlames, 2 Oct 2017.

1. Corky42

Corky42 Where's walle?

Yes but not in the way it's interpreted, it was (afaik) intended to prevent the state from having a standing army as the founding fathers believed, and rightly so IMO, that a state with a standing army can use that army to subjugate its citizens or that it leads to military rule.

Indeed, that's why i said once the structures were in place to prevent the above from happening the 2nd amendment became largely irrelevant (I'm not an expert on the American structural makeup so maybe I'm wrong on that).

Indeed, i get the impression though that it will never happen as there's lots of money behind the pro-gun movement, as sad as it is Americans are just going to have to get used to people losing their lives from firearms. :(

2. Mister_Tad

Mister_Tad Will work for nuts Super Moderator

Isn't the interpretation more relevant than the intent though? I mean, in the context of today.

And is intent even relevant at all for something created in a different world, 230 years ago?

[​IMG]

It's like a grown man whining about wanting to be a superhero because his mummy told him he could be anything he wanted to be as a toddler, and needs a slap and told to grow up.

Last edited: 5 Oct 2017
    cjmUK and MLyons like this.
  3. Corky42

Corky42 Where's walle?

Don't you need to understand the intent to be able to understand how to interpret something though.

4. Mister_Tad

Mister_Tad Will work for nuts Super Moderator

Yes, but you're looking at it from a rational person's point of view.