1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Education Benefits of Yoga

Discussion in 'General' started by javaman, 21 Jan 2018.

1. javaman

javaman May irritate Eyes

Hi Everyone,

I have been wondering about the benefits of Yoga especially how useful it would be for flexibility.

The story behind this was just over a year ago I started playing 8-a-side football with a few friends. While my fitness picked up I was starting to get plagued with an issue that stopped me playing all the years before, shin splints.
    After getting it checked out by the GP and referred, it was concluded that I was loosing flexibility in my calf muscle coupled with having fairly large calf's from rugby and hiking, was was causing the muscle along my shin to start to tare hence the pain.
    It was recommended that I stretch the calf everyday which after a few weeks is fairly boring even at 10mins. This got me to looking at other exercises with Yoga being recommend.

Does anyone on here do Yoga especially focusing on flexibility and have any tips for getting started? I assume joining a class is the best way to get up and running so to speak. All advice and tips welcome

2. fix-the-spade

fix-the-spade Multimodder

Definitely join a beginners class and don't be the guys who puts his back out in the living room. There's always pilates too, which is suspiciously similar to Yoga but not quite, there seems to be as much spiritual bumph at a Pilates class.

Stretches are indeed boring, for calf stretches setting up a bar on the floor so you can stand on it whilst doing something else is nice, just be sure it's somewhere you won't trip over it.

3. Tichinde

Tichinde Minimodder

So I've been doing a cardio based yoga system called DDPY for years now.
    Yoga will help your flexibility no end so it's worth looking into, but as Spade says, go talk an actual trainer and maybe do a few lead classes.

4. Jake123456