1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other What do you do for a living?

Discussion in 'General' started by MLyons, 22 May 2018.

1. adidan

adidan Guesswork is still work

I'm half tempted to report that post.

:D

2. MLyons

MLyons 70% Dev, 30% Doge. DevDoge. Software Dev @ Corsair Lover of bit-tech Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

Go ahead. I’ll be half tempted to find the old discourage button. :naughty:

adidan likes this.
  3. adidan

adidan Guesswork is still work

I'd be worried but if it's a button you have access to you've probably broken it. :p:

4. [ZiiP] NaloaC

[ZiiP] NaloaC Multimodder

Hadn't noticed this thread before!

I'm a wetland engineer and deer farmer in Ireland.

Main job is the wetland, which keeps me busy as all hell and the deer are more of a hobby farm than any true commercial agricultural enterprise.

These are the style of wetlands we do:

They're for treating wastewater of pretty much any source. Only water type that has given us any problems so far is acid mine drainage in Portugal and Spain, due to pyrite geology which results in high levels of Thio-Sulphates which, when the oxidise, drop the pH down as low as 1.5 (lower than stomach acid), but we're making good progress with our research trials with clients over there. In fact, I am off to Denver, Colorado tomorrow afternoon ahead of a conference where I'm presenting our work at an international symposium :)

Fingers66, Hex and MLyons like this.
  5. Gareth Halfacree

Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Lover of bit-tech Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

I usually ignore the simple requests - things like "I'm covering Topic X this morning, so don't write about it yourself" - on the grounds that the person will quickly realise I did as I was asked when the request is immediately fulfilled. I'll only usually reply if I'm not going to do it ("tough ta-tas, I've already started.")

6. MLyons