1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Notebooks Microsoft Surface - Advice needed

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Sentinel-R1, 11 Oct 2018.

1. Sentinel-R1

Sentinel-R1 Chaircrew

It's new laptop time and I've been eyeing up the Surface family for a few months now. With the new Pros about to launch, there's some fairly decent deals on the 5th gen to be had, but I'm not sure which model to go for. I'm fairly confident that I'd prefer the Pro, rather than the laptop or Go versions, unless your experiences differ?

Usage: General office/project use. Portable and versatile. Battery must last a full working day.

Is the 4GB RAM option going to hinder performance on the Surface Pro?
    Which CPU option should I go for?
    Any other considerations that I've missed?

Thanks.

2. thewelshbrummie

thewelshbrummie Minimodder

More than likely. I'd say 4GB is the absolute minimum and probably wouldn't use a machine with 4GB for anything other than basic consumption use.

I have the 8GB Go (thanks to Microsoft offering the student discount to me for reasons I haven't figured out). It's fine but Edge/Opera/Firefox struggle once you get beyond 10-15 tabs (I don't use Chrome), mainly down to the CPU being hammered but memory usage can easily hit 80%+ without difficulty. It's certainly not as quick as my 3 year old Spectre x360 Skylake laptop despite it having the same amount of RAM. The battery isn't fantastic either, 4-6 hours is typical from it so I'm confident the Go isn't for you.

The Pro 6 starts with 8GB Ram so is definitely worth considering. The extra £100 over the discounted 128GB/i5 5th gen Pro gets you extra CPU cores - the i5-8250 which is a 4 core/8 thread cpu, the i5-7300 in the 5th gen is a 2core/4thread option. Worth keeping in mind.