1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress ⭐ Project Monochrome - Shift X Watercooled

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by §§..., 11 May 2019.

1. §§...

§§... What's a Dremel?

Welcome everyone to my first ever case mod, and first custom PC build. Excited to see how it turns out, as I will be making it up as i go along. This will be a gaming rig primarily with some ML work on the side.

The main PC hardware so far:
    • Case - Phanteks Evolv Shift X
    • Mobo - Asus Z390-I mini-itx motherboard
    • CPU - Intel i7 9700K
    • Corsair SF750 power supply
    • Palit RTX 2080Ti

Watercooling hardware:
    • 2 x Hardware Labs Nemesis GTS 280
    • Heatkiller 4 GPU Waterblock
    • Heatkiller tube 100 DDC Reservoir
    • Alphacool XPX Nylon CPU Waterblock
    This has been in the works for about a month now, wasn't initially putting up for all to see, but i decided that as it's my first time in such an endeavor, the hive-mind will help me with any noob errors along the way.

The case:
    The first thing that i've learnt so far is that the Shift X is a beautiful case, but an absolute pain to work with. The layout is a bit odd, and seeing it in person, I can easily see i've got my work cut out to fit everything in for the watercooling.

[​IMG]

Getting the easy bits out of the way first, the mobo got some deglamourising paint work to match the theme

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Next up was trying to figure out how to get the power wiring to be aesthetic. There's a tiny cable tray between the base of the mobo and the bottom half of the case, but that had to come out, as there's really not much covering anything.