1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Education Watch aficionados in here...

Discussion in 'General' started by Pete J, 3 Mar 2019.

1. BeauchN

BeauchN Multimodder

I had a Super Ocean Chrono as my daily watch for almost a decade. Agree on them being pretty much indestructible. It got bashed around, scuffed, and dropped more often than I care to think about. But, the only time it stopped working was when I got sand in the mechanism (not entirely sure how), and every time it came back from servicing it was polished up like new. My biggest complaint was that the thread holding down the crown kept stripping, then again, they kept replacing it for me. I only got rid of it after I got my Seamaster and realised I just wasn't wearing it any more.

2. Shirty

Shirty W*nker! Super Moderator

It annoys me when decent watch brands decide to use fudge to make crown threads. I had two separate Tags where the crown threads stripped.

3. trigger

trigger Procrastinator

Oh dear I didn't know we had another enabler thread, lol!

I have a few nice watches and a bunch of bits and bobs watches. Like others have said though, it's a real rabbit hole and I often find myself wondering why I bother - my phone is more accurate than all of my watches (unless I get that The Citizen I've been eyeing :idea:), the technology is antiquated, needs maintenance, etc, etc. And yet still I collect!

Let's see, I have (pics lifted from interweb):

IWC Ingenieur
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Nomos Minimatik
    [​IMG]

Zenith Elite
    [​IMG]

Seiko Alpinist
    [​IMG]

... pls an old King Seiko auto; an old King Seiko quartz; two cheap Citizen quartz jobbies, one for gardening, one for swimming; a Vostok Yuri Gagarin anniversary watch, and 4-5 other old Russian watches is various states of decline.