1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't stabily OC in BIOS, but can in Windows?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Novakog, 30 Mar 2005.

1. Novakog

Novakog What's a Dremel?

Okay, not long ago, I was running my Athlon FX-53 on an MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum with a 13x multiplier (so it was a 200 mhz overclock) to 2.6 GHz. I recently updated the BIOS, and I've found I can hardly OC at all from the BIOS now. If I'm lucky, Windows will boot with a 12.5 multiplier. I know the half multipliers are faked, so basically I can't seem to up the multiplier at all.

Now, here's the other part of it, I can overclock quite well from within Windows. Using MSI's utility CoreCenter, and Clockgen, I can get up to 13x multiplier with an FSB of 205 mhz quite stabily.

I'm pretty new to OCing, so I don't know what the problem could be? Is the BIOS just f*ed up and I should report the problem and wait for a new BIOS to be released? Are there some settings I'm forgetting to turn on/off in the BIOS that really help the OCing? Please make suggestions you would consider stupid as well, cause I could be overlooking them.

EDIT: Also, I'm pretty sure it's unrelated to temperature or voltage, I've played around with the voltages a lot and the temperatures are really cool (at full CPU voltage, it doesn't get up to 55 C, and at regular CPU voltage it's between ambient temp and 40 C).

Last edited: 30 Mar 2005
  2. FIBRE+

FIBRE+ Minimodder

Id just either get hold of the older bios (and wait for a newer release) or crank up the fsb and lock the memory unless it can handle it. Have you increased the voltage at all ?

Please correct me if im wrong as im a self taught computer geek and still noobish with ocing.

3. dubya01

dubya01 What's a Dremel?

Did overclocking work with the older bios??

4. Novakog

Novakog What's a Dremel?

Yeah, overclocking did work with the old BIOS, and I have played around with voltages.