1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motors diagnostics code reader

Discussion in 'General' started by OneSeventeen, 8 Aug 2003.

1. OneSeventeen

OneSeventeen Oooh Shiny!

I'm driving a '93 Oldsmobile Cutlass that has gone bad (so, I gues I'm not really driving it... I'm riding my bike and passing by my '93 Olds!) and it was suggested by Dad to get a diagnostics code reader for about $60.

I am a car Newbie! I found a coupon to get my diagnostics code read for $30, and figured I might as well buy my own reader, since it was mentioned to be the same price as two reads!

My question is, How do they work? Do they work on all cars after a certain year? Can I plug in my 2000 Chevy S10 Pickup to the reader as well? Does it have sounds and flashy lights?

I guess I want something that is going to last, but I really don't need all the super amazing bells and whistles, I just want to be able to tell what's wrong with my car.

What do you all suggest? Know of any good online stores in the US, or even offline, that I might be able to find. I know autozone/checker marks up prices almost double sometimes, but if there are other places...

Favorite brands? Advice? tips? Requests for fewer question marks? In my threads?

2. Dad

Dad You talkin to me?

Hahaha...

Yes, like I said in the tranny thread, a code reader is a very good tool to have. The one you will need for your '93 Cutlass SHOULD work with any model GM from '87 through '02, but double check the package. There are seperate ones for Ford and Mopar vehicles (the expensive ones will do all cars including imports).