1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Music Mic'ing a Keyboard

Discussion in 'General' started by Gabe, 11 Nov 2008.

1. Gabe

Gabe What's a Dremel?

Hi guys, I have a Yamaha DGX 520 keyboard, and was interested in setting up a microphone to it so I can do my own song recordings while playing, but I am completely new to the whole scene, and I know my keyboard has the USB connections to connect and what not, but where can I start? Where do I get a microphone and what kind do I need to hook to the keyboard, and what software is needed? Thanks guys. Remember, I'm lost :(

2. BentAnat

BentAnat Software Dev

ouch.
    That's a really tough one.
    Software can start really easily (and fairly basic), with products such as Apple's Garage Band (if you're on a mac), or even Adobe Audition. It gets really expensive and really complex once you start looking at bigger suites (Cubase SX, ProTools, to name a few).
    The equipment varies equally.
    From a mic plugged into a line-in and a good set of headphones down to a complete setup of midi controllers, triggered drumkits and all that jazz.

Generally, my recommendation is:
    Software: something where you can do basic mixing, panning, maybe some compression and layering... layering is important. Preferably something to sample with as well, as getting that "perfect sequence" down for the 50th time in the song might prove tricky.

hardware wise:
    Good microphone (nothing under a Behringer mic, preferably a big condenser mic, otherwise a Sure SM58/SM58beta) - they cost good money.
    Good sound card that can preferably take XLR-in and mono- as well as stereo 6.5mm Line in (think high end audigy with a breakout box).

alternately, you could always use a pc mic and a stereo line-in with sound recorder...
    my advice is to search around a bit for things like "home recording" "home studio", etc.

3. Techno-Dann

Techno-Dann Disgruntled kumquat