1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Education Optimise company wide network. What's the battle plan?

Discussion in 'General' started by dragontail, 26 Mar 2011.

1. dragontail

dragontail 5bet Bluffer

I've been asked to lead a company wide internal networking review.

* Software based company with 5 or 6 sites, 30-40 staff, many computers.
    * It's a bit messy at the minute, loads of VPNs going everywhere (hence the review).
    * The time scale is months.
    * Things to look at include accessibility, security, growth potential, performance, resilience, etc.
    * Technical director has offered guidance.

At this point you're thinking: cheeky question son! Go do some research you lazy punk. Haha I agree - but this is difficult - I'm a graduate 6 months in and haven't done anything like this. Don't get me wrong, this is challenging but in a good way - all I'm looking for is advice. Anything you can think of really. Fire away.

Fwiw, my first step is to get a Test Plan. Currently deploying googlefu.

2. Picarro

Picarro What's a Dremel?

I have next to no experience networking myself (think bog-standard 200 square meter villa).

What I would do is draw up a schematic of how everything is connected at the moment, then consult your list of objectives with the restructuring, and then start moving pieces about :)

dragontail likes this.
  3. dragontail

dragontail 5bet Bluffer

Agreed. How do you do a review if you don't know what it looks like right?

Ah, things like this makes me wonder how rubbish my own home network is :lol:

4. Fruitloaf

Fruitloaf Tinkerer

Apart from finding out what you have now you haven't mentioned what you are hoping to achieve and what sort of budget you're looking at? With 5 or 6 sites you haven't really got many people per site and if they're geographically dispersed they could be a pain to support.