1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Why wont you use Vista?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Mother-Goose, 23 Jan 2008.

1. Mother-Goose

Mother-Goose 5 o'clock somewhere

I've just been sitting here talking about Vista with the guys at work and it led me to an interesting question, namely, Why wouldn't you use Vista?

Now obviously there is hardware requirements which mean some people just cannot run it, but if you could (even theoretically), why would you not?

I've been using it for 7 months and I can see no real reason why you'd want to use XP instead. No reason at all.

2. Zurechial

Zurechial Elitist

I don't feel like paying a few hundred euro for something that will be of no appreciable benefit to the day-to-day usage of my system.

From what I can gather, DX10 is currently a waste of time and Vista offers nothing else to make itself worth a few hundred quid that I could spend on upgrades with an immediate appreciable benefit, or something else entirely.
    I'll upgrade to Vista x64 when I move on from 2Gb of RAM and when DX10 actually holds some appeal for gaming without a painful dip in performance.
    Until then, XP does everything I want it to and I paid for it long ago already, so it's an easy choice.

To sum it up, if someone gave me a legal copy Vista for free I'd use it, because I have nothing against it, but I'm not going to pay for it. Not yet.

3. GoodBytes

GoodBytes How many wifi's does it have?

Its a question of change, IMO.
    Many people ask for change, but they don't want change.