1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cost of folding per month?

Discussion in 'bit-tech Folding Team' started by LifeLongGamer, 2 Oct 2012.

1. LifeLongGamer

LifeLongGamer What's a Dremel?

Hi guys, I am new to this whole folding thing but I really want to help out however I am wondering about the potential cost of running my PC for extended lengths of time. Generally I don;t leave it running 24/7. I will for instance only leave it running overnight if I have a particularly large WU that is going to take a significant amount of time. On average I would say my PC is running 8 hours a day.

Below are the specifications for my PC:

-Intel i7 3930k @ Stock. This will be overclocked soon when I get better fans for my H80 or when I setup a true liquid cooling solution.
    -Asus Sabretooth X79 motherboard
    -16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance RAM
    -Corsair H80 with 2 Sythe Gentle Typhoon fans running at 1800RPM
    -Asus GTX670 (Not the TOP edition).
    -Corsair AX750 PSU
    -Seagate Barracuda 2TB HDD
    -Crucial M4 256GB SSD
    -LG Blu Ray Drive (Can't remember exactly which one)
    -Themaltake Chaser MK-1 Case.
    -I am also using the 2 stock Thermaltake Colorshift fans that come with the case as well as the 140mm included case fan which I re positioned at the top of the case until I can get a better replacement.

Both the CPU and the GPU are both running as stock most of the time. I will be OC'ing the CPU to atleast 4.3GHz, Maybe 4.5 when I have a better cooling solution for the VCORE.

Anyways, I have no idea how to work out the cost per month to run this, if it was my own place then I wouldn't mind but I am still living at home with my family so I can;t expect my parents to foot the bill for the electricity so I am going to pay them however much it costs, cheers guys,

Dan :)

2. kirk46

kirk46 Cheesecake Nom Nom

Hi mate