1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News Gartner blames tablets, not Windows 8, for PC market slump

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Gareth Halfacree, 12 Apr 2013.

1. Gareth Halfacree

Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Lover of bit-tech Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

2. Flibblebot

Flibblebot Smile with me

I think Gartner has a much more sensible analysis than IDC - simply blaming Windows 8 seemed a little lazy to me.

I think tablets are far more to blame than a new operating system. After all, most consumers don't even think about the OS when they're buying a new laptop, all they're concerned about is whether they can read email and use Facebook. Even corporates will wipe a new PC and install whatever the corporate standard OS image is.

The tablets thing is borne out in my work - I work as an adult tutor teaching IT classes, and we've seen a decrease in the number of "Computers for the Terrified" courses we run and an increase in the number of "Learn Your Tablet" courses.

3. erratum1

erratum1 What's a Dremel?

A tablet does what they want it's cheaper more portable.

4. sstteevveenn

sstteevveenn What's a Dremel?

Can somebody write a script or something that inserts '[sic]' whenever someone writes 'going forward'? Maybe there is a firefox extension or something that does this? :/

Nexxo likes this.
  5. Griffter

Griffter What's a Dremel?

i want to go back to 1998. schooldays, no worries and the start of usb i think and just great feelings all round. bliss

6. rayson

rayson Damn sure it was legal

:waah: i dont pc growth slow down

7. Blademrk

Blademrk Why so serious?

While I think Tablets are the main cause of this, I don't think Win8 is helping either (earlier in the week I overheard someone trying to return a copy of Win8 they'd bought because they hated it and get a copy of win7 instead (in Asda of all places, and no, they don't stock Win7))

8. jrs77