1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux Jumping in with Linux....

Discussion in 'Software' started by Mr_Mistoffelees, 11 Aug 2015.

1. Mr_Mistoffelees

Mr_Mistoffelees The Bit-Tech Cat. New Improved Version.

Been using Windows since 3.11 but, now that I have packed-in gaming and no longer work, so have plenty of time, I have decided it is time I gave Linux a proper try-out. I did try it some years ago but, got nowhere, still gaming and not enough time.

Any thoughts on a good distro to get started with? I have been thinking about Mint or Ubuntu but, for the first time in a very long time, I am a complete noob. I have already checked that I should be able to run all my hardware, including printer.

The plan is to run the W10 upgrade, to get registered on the activation system in case I go back to Windows, then jump in and learn about Linux. Only problem, so far, is there are so many distros to choose from.

2. deathtaker27

deathtaker27 Modder

I would recommend CENTOS which is essentially redhat (Linux Enterprise solution) works really well extremely stable, I don't touch ubuntu anymore but really it just comes down to personal preference, try a couple live disks out and see which one you like :)

3. bionicgeekgrrl

bionicgeekgrrl Minimodder

I'd recommend Linux Mint (Cinnamon), easy to use and set up. I've used it for years now over Ubuntu as I didn't like the changes Ubuntu made. Works great on my laptop and desktop.

4. RedFlames

RedFlames ...is not a Belgian football team

I tend to go for Fedora for stability, Ubuntu/Mint for compatibility.

Ubuntu or one of it's derivatives [including Mint] is probably going to be the most n00b friendly...

Mostly it's a case of picking a back-end you get on with and pairing it with a desktop environment you like...

Last edited: 11 Aug 2015
  5. theshadow2001

theshadow2001 [DELETE] means [DELETE]