1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apple Mactel Performance

Discussion in 'Software' started by John Cena, 16 Apr 2006.

1. John Cena

John Cena What's a Dremel?

Thinking about buying a Mac Mini and then possibly installing Windows XP/2003 on it.

How's the performance on a mac mini? Upgradability? I'm a noob when it comes to Macs.

Basically, if I do install windows...will I get better performance than my desktop server? (P4 3ghz C series, 1.5 gig PC4200 dual channel, 80 gig WD 8mb cache, Geforce 5200)

2. Pookeyhead

Pookeyhead It's big, and it's clever.

Highly unlikely.

3. Firehed

Firehed Why not? I own a domain to match.

Depends. Gaming, no. HD performance, no. CPU-intensive, if you get the Core Duo, yes, if not I think it'd be maybe slightly better. Plus you'd want to match the memory at least (even more if possible, direct from Apple 2GB costs $450, but if you find a working set you can do it for $170 or so). It'd have its plus sides, notably the form factor, but upgradability is pretty much nil beyond the memory and hard drive.

4. Pookeyhead

I fail to see how you can just say "yes". What processors are you comparing? Compare it to a Venice 3000+ at stock speeds, then yeah.. but i doubt it will be a match for the original poster's CPU.

5. Gordy

Gordy Evil Teddy

A dual core intel chip will beat a p4 3gb :) In most tasks yes they are 2 penitum m's together and they were almost as good as a p4 on their own :)

If the item you are processing is multithreading it will wipe the floor with the p4.

If you are running the 5200 as your gfx card the onboard graphics won't be as much of an issue for you as some. It will be similiar or slightly better than your current gfx card.

6. Firehed

Firehed Why not? I own a domain to match.