1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A/V Ceiling speakers

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by adam_bagpuss, 28 Nov 2018.

1. adam_bagpuss

adam_bagpuss Have you tried turning it off/on ?

Hey guys,

Im looking for some advice on ceiling speakers or speakers in general as im not an audio expert.

Im currently re-doing my kitchen which will have Sonos added to it when complete. I'm adding 2x ceiling speakers which will be wired to a SONOS AMP (new one launching next year).

Im struggling to understand the difference between speakers and really if they are any good. I could do with some input or recommendations if the below are not great and what would work best with the AMP.

My kitchen is about 6m x 4m as a general space

Budget is Sub £250 for a pair

https://www.richersounds.com/hi-fi/in-wall-ceiling-speakers/cambridgeaudio-c155.html

https://www.richersounds.com/hi-fi/in-wall-ceiling-speakers/kef-ci130er.html

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Polk-Audio-RC80i-Ceiling-Speakers/dp/B00006BMQT/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1543417555&sr=8-2&keywords=ceiling+speakers&refinements=p_89:polk+Audio

2. Vault-Tec

Vault-Tec Green Plastic Watering Can

3. Sentinel-R1

Sentinel-R1 Chaircrew

B&W CCM382's all the way. You should be able to pick them up for around £250 now but you're getting a comparable £500 quid's worth of speakers, easily.

Stunning audiophile quality.

Last edited: 28 Nov 2018
  4. adam_bagpuss

missus wouldnt go for the MB ones as they would stick out massively.

so would there really be much differnce between the £150 cambrdige audio ones and B&W CCM382's ?

5. Sentinel-R1

Sentinel-R1 Chaircrew

On paper, probably not much. Similar frequency range and impedence but with high quality speakers, there's usually a depth, a fullness, a richness or crispness that you can't measure or statistise. I know which pair I'd go for. Bowers and Wilkins make seriously high quality stuff.

6. Mister_Tad