1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gaming Far Cry 3 Preview

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by arcticstoat, 11 Dec 2011.

1. arcticstoat

arcticstoat Minimodder

2. Gunsmith

Gunsmith Maximum Win

given the quality of far cry 2 it'll likely make me slit my own throat.

3. Woodspoon

Woodspoon What's a Dremel?

what Gunsmith said

4. barrkel

barrkel What's a Dremel?

Far Cry 2's weapons *never* jammed on me. You know why? Because I played the game like I was a professional mercenary, and always stocked up on fresh weapons before every mission. I avoided encounters before reaching the objective - routing around checkpoints - and was frequently able to get far enough to get the job done and get out again without collateral damage, particularly for assassination missions.

Judging by how much time I spent on it (enjoying it), Far Cry 2 is still the best PC FPS game released in the past 3 years, for my money. Massively enjoyable exercise in immersion.

The best bits about it: road patrols and continuous respawning checkpoints. Those two elements made navigating the countryside suspenseful. If the checkpoints could be easily wiped out permanently, then the game would have been made far too easy. It was much more fun sneaking past checkpoints, and plotting a route that enabled that.

I have a theory that people who didn't like it prefer their FPSes to be mindless Rambo-style console romps, the kind of thing Crysis tediously advertised and promoted - a desperately dull and easy game I played exactly once.

Last edited: 11 Dec 2011
  5. thehippoz

thehippoz What's a Dremel?

but that's exactly what it was.. I have a theory on people who liked it- they had some really crappy e machines that couldn't play crysis and farcry 2 tended to look nice on the low end hardware :p

last time I worked on a engine.. turning a nut 5 or 6 times didn't do anything..