1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News Modern games have a "creativity problem"

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by CardJoe, 29 Jun 2010.

1. ParaHelix.org

ParaHelix.org What's a Dremel?

I thought he was gonna rant about creativity... apparently not :/

2. ParaHelix.org

ParaHelix.org What's a Dremel?

I just re-assigned buttons on my X-Box PC controller...I'm an artist!

3. tad2008

tad2008 What's a Dremel?

I agree that there are games that do not or should not be realistic, afterall Tetris could hardly be considered so and was hugely popular. However, the sense of realism I am referring to is more closely associated with damage, atmosphere and overall scale.

Let's take your Wizards and Elves example from the fantasy genre, we know they don't exist in real life but let's consider adding a sense of realism about it. We know Elves stereotypically tend to use bows and we have bows in real life, yet in those RPG / Fantasy style games (albeit not all) you can make a veritable pin cushion out of your chosen target before it falls down.

Coming back to the modern day, WW2 games give you SMG's that use a whole clip to kill someone, which in anything less than a cartoon / comic book style game in my opinion detracts from the game itself.

Games themselves are lacking creativity and the lack of realism is dumbing things down for players who no longer need to think creatively to get through a game. In a lot of FPS titles it's stock up on ammo and find the med kit, wade in to the guards and keep your finger on the trigger. We as players are not given the opportunity to be rewarded for our own creative game play or encouraged to explore alternative avenues to simply standing toe to toe with our opponents.