1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ode to Silence - Updated September 18

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by fyes, 14 Apr 2005.

1. fyes

fyes What's a Dremel?

Greetings Mates, Friends, Chums, and lurkers,

Having done a few minor mods, such as painting my case in a hammered metal green finish:

[​IMG]

I decided to get rid of all the noise and go for the gusto with some watercooling. When I started down this road, I had the only tool I thought I needed (hah!), a Dremel.

So, fast forward a few months, and now I have a cheap drill press, some titanium drill bits, and a couple of cobalt end mills.

Anyway, I figured I could do any easy sprial waterblock for the cpu, so I whipped up my design:

[​IMG]

Here's a transparent look that shows the water channel:

[​IMG]

So anyway, that's the intent. Now after hours, hours I tell you!, and more than one broken drill bit (hey, this is my first time with these things), here's what I've got:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

As you can see, the drill slipped once or twice, and it's definetely not CNC beautiful. Not bad for doing it all by hand, I think, though. Not even a compound table on the drill press. I console myself by remembering that the rough spots will add to the turbulance of the waterflow and aid in heat exchange. :D

I'll use some quick connect fittings and an industry standard hold down:

[​IMG]

I'm also half-way through construction of a waterblock for the hard drives. Instead of going the carve-a-channel-through-solid-copper route, I thought I might construct this baby from sheets of copper, brazing them together. Here's some early photos of the first two sheets brazed:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

As you can see below, I've begun to file down the extraneous brazing material. I already know this puppy is not airtight, so I plan to seal up the holes with some soldering:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]