1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Graphics To buy a GTX770 or not

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by J-Pepper, 3 Apr 2014.

1. J-Pepper

J-Pepper Minimodder

Been contemplating to buy a GTX770 for a while now, but with Maxwell around the corner, i'm not sure whether to buy one now, and possibly upgrade when they come out.

My current rig specs are as follows:

Corsair Obsidian 750D
    Asus Maximus VI Formula
    Corsair Vengeance Pro CL10 2400 16Gb
    Intel i7 4770K
    Corsair AX760i
    6x Intel 520 series 240Gb SSD

Only CPU is watercooled for the moment, until i make the decision to buy a graphics card, where everything will be watercooled using acrylic tubing.

Currently using an old Radeon 5850 which came out of my old rig back when i was an active builder a few years ago.

What would you suggest?

2. jrs77

jrs77 Modder

The question is, do you need a new GPU currently.

If not, then there's no reason not to wait for the next generation.

3. Guest-44432

Guest-44432 Guest

AMD R9 290 are going cheap (£250) in the Marketplace and it's faster! :)

4. J-Pepper

J-Pepper Minimodder

the rig will be purely for fiddling with overclocking and gaming, with the occasianal photoshopping, if my mac can't handle it.

So, to answer your question, it would be nice to have a new graphics card which can handle max settings on higher than 1680 resolutions.

The reason for hesitancy is due to the Maxwell where cards which have been brought out are much more efficient than the cards already out now, while displaying better performance. The question in my mind, is to either hold out for that, or no point, and upgrade now

5. The_Crapman

The_Crapman World's worst stuntman. Lover of bit-tech