1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News Analysts urge Sony to drop PS3 price

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by CardJoe, 8 Oct 2008.

1. Major

Major Guest

They are totally right, the majority of console buyers will look at the 360 at £100 and buy it instantly, why should they spend £180 more on a console for their kid?

(Parents point of view btw)

2. gargoyle

gargoyle What's a Dremel?

I must admit I was very surprised that MS didn't seem to have created a bundle that included the Xbox Live thing (or whatever it's called), wi-fi adapter and rechargeable pads to go head to head with the PS3. I can't help but feel slightly like MS are trying to "trick" me into buying something that I need to plough money into to bring up to a usable spec, coupled with the spotty reliability record and I get nervy.

If I was an analyst then yeah I'd probably say Sony could do with a price-cut before Christmas just for the momentum and the associated press attention, and I wouldn't be surprised if they did one at the end of this month.

3. talladega

talladega I'm Squidward

So what caused PS3 to outsell 360 WW since December last year each week except the few select weeks 360 had a sales spike (price drop)? You are talking like the PS3 has been getting outsold all along. If you look at sales comparisons of what each console has sold the past month, the 360 had a huge sales increase because of massive price drop. The PS3's weekly sales dropped something like 20K at first and are now slowly going back up, while now the 360's sales are going back down to how they were before.

Obviously the price drop had a huge affect for the 360 as it has outsold the PS3 WW the past few weeks but the PS3's sales have not been affected very much at all.

If the PS3 was at equal price as the 360 it would be curb stomping the 360's sales.

4. liratheal

liratheal Sharing is Caring