1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apple Mini is tempting

Discussion in 'Software' started by BrokeEnthusiast, 28 Aug 2005.

1. BrokeEnthusiast

BrokeEnthusiast What's a Dremel?

I was wondering about the MiniMac:
    1.25GHz PowerPC G4
    512MB DDR333 SDRAM
    ATI Radeon 9200
    32MB DDR video memory
    40GB Ultra ATA hard drive
    Combo drive (DVD/CD-RW)
    DVI or VGA video output
    Optional AirPort Extreme and Bluetooth
    Built-in 56k Internal Modem

1.25 just doesnt seem like it would be"fast" should I go for the upgraded one, is it worth the $100
    Im new to macs and at school i get to play on G5's in my Visual Art class :p . Im learning a little about them, mostly finding stuff out about them by myself. I just dont know if i want to make the switch to a Mac. (I was going to build a high end gaminc PC but realized that at the price of parts and games and the fact that im going to be in college next year, im going to just stay off that and play my Xbox) So I have a laptop right now but its broken (only a hinge (see post in laptop forums)) but i want to link my laptop to a my Mac (if I get one) But I have a few questions. With windows I can go online and get free programs (download.com) and get just about anything I need. So I was wondering if there was a lot of free shareware for macs and also If I dont want to buy the Word and office for the Mac is there a *cough* free way to get it *cough* like there is for windows? And can I get limewire for mac so I can *cough*pirate*cough* music? Because I basically want a computer that I can have some fun on, not really gaming but just the basic stuff and to learn more about the macs. Oh yeah and does OSX Tiger come on the MacMini's when you buy them? And is apple like windows where they have an autoupdate page and stuff? And my final question can i link my Mac and laptop together on my network?

thats a lot of questions... :rolleyes: