1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any Programmers Around?

Discussion in 'Serious' started by Xenith, 24 Mar 2009.

1. Xenith

Xenith What's a Dremel?

Hey bit-tech community,

I'm looking for the perspective of a programmer (with a degree, or have been in trade for long period of time). I'm thinking about studying computer science in college (I'm currently a freshman studying mechanical engineering) and I want to know whether programmers GENUINELY like what they do. Also, I'm curious as to what a yearly salary is (on average). I have googled it and got figures, but i want to know from actual people. I want to know what kind of work load you went through in college (mine is currently overbearing... though I could make it through, Im annoyed by some of my teachers and am looking for a wait out lol). I like spending time on my computer, so it seems like it'd be a good job, no?

So, in simple terms, what is it like being a programmer/ do you enjoy it/ worth getting degree in.

Thanks!:D

2. Krikkit

Krikkit All glory to the hypnotoad! Super Moderator

Is MechEng not to your tastes? I don't know about your specific course, but a lot of MechEng courses will involve a good deal of programming, so you might want to stick with that if you're not 100% on shifting to programming full-time.

3. Bogomip

Bogomip ... Yo Momma

There arent really many degrees of worth that are simply "programming". Most will be informatics/computer science which have a whole range of computer related things, it will be far from just programming.

It is also my experience (as someone having done both uni informatics and engineering courses) that informatics courses are alot more work, though in general its a bit easier (for me, though I have never gotten less than an A in informatics or engineering... i reserve the low grades for my real subject :p).

Pay grades for programmers vary wildly.