1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Equipment Help with lenses for a beginner

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by MightyBenihana, 18 Aug 2014.

1. MightyBenihana

MightyBenihana Do or do not, there is no try

Hi photography forum,

I am getting a D3300 with the 18-55mm kit lens. However, because lenses are so expensive where I live I need to get any lenses I want while my folks are visiting.

At the moment I am looking at these:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Nikon-AF-S-....5-5.6G+VR+Lens+Nikon+AF-S+DX+NIKKOR+55-300mm

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...ct_title_10?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...act_title_3?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE.

I could probably afford all of them but would this be worth it?

I know it may be better to buy 1 super good lens but then I am a beginner so I have no idea which I will prefer.

I will be shooting pictures of the children a lot but would also like it to be usable for a lot of the landscapes around here too.

Any suggestions would be really appreciated, thanks.

2. Instagib

Instagib Minimodder

The 50mm is an excellent choice for a crop sensor camera like your D3300. The crop factor gives you an equivalent focal length of 75mm, which is a great working length for portraits. The quick f1.8 aperture will also teach you the significance of aperture and its impact on depth of field. It'll also be handy in low light conditions.

I was never a fan of 35mm lenses for some reason. Just never needed one, so I cant really comment on them.

The 55-300mm will offer you some incredible reach, but it's not particularly quick and will restrict your use to well lit situations like sunny days.

For landscapes, you will need a fairly wide angle lens and a tripod. Your kit lens should be okay at the 18mm for starting off.