1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Project: "Nomad" - A Liquid Cooled, i7/SLI SFF system (CANCELLED)

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by shomann, 27 Sep 2009.

1. shomann

shomann Minimodder

Intro and explanation:

This project has been a long time coming. I have been wanting to do a custom case or scratch build for sometime now, in no small part due to the insane amount of craftsmanship and skill I see here on bit-tech everyday. This case is the culmination of 6 months of planning, re-planning, saving and scheming. It has, as I am sure is the case of many others here, been on my mind ever since I decided to try it.

Now, I am not a metal worker or tradesman in any since of the word. I have no formal knowledge of metalworking or fabrication. This is my first attempt at any sort of serious case mod (let alone scratch build) and also my first go-around with liquid cooling. To that end, I have studied several different projects here and elsewhere, but there are a few that have really shaped this project:

• craigbru - for his excellent Rogue casemod. I would actually call it a hybrid between casemod and scratch build as there is so much excellent fabrication here. More than anyone else, this project steered me into a SFF mindset as he showed just how much you can cram into a small space. He was also one of the ones that helped in the initial design and planning.
    • oldnewby - for Cygnus X1. His idea of an internal framework for a case was a HEAVY influence in my final design. He was also gracious enough to let a noob like me use that design for a starting point. I will say it again, but thanks oldnewby! I am sure I won't be the last one to borrow a few of your ideas ;)
    • tremeloes (external influence) - for his ever-evolving Lian-Li V350b case mod. This was in the information thread back when I had convinced myself I couldn't build my own case ;).