1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Project: Rogue 5 :>o<: Back from dead w/mess o' pics

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Bandit_zoraK, 17 Feb 2005.

1. Bandit_zoraK

Bandit_zoraK What's a Dremel?

Introduction

Well I'm back with my new mod: Project: Rogue 5. If you've seen my EmpirePC (in my sig) you can pretty much that I am a big star wars fan. I have already covered 1/2 of the gcw so I figured I would start a project for the other side.
    This whole thing started with the concept picture I made in photoshop a while back....
    [​IMG]

As I am a poor college student, my budget for this project is limited but after searching around, I found this Sky Hawk Alum case on newegg for 50 shipped.
    My goal with this case is to mod it in the style of a starfighter- no wings or anything silly like that, but as an inspiration.
    Here's a generic pic off of newegg of the case. I could've sworn that I took some pics when I first got it, but I guess they got erased. (Oh well- check out the Klondike's chem warfare mod to see some before pics, same case).
    [​IMG]

The first thing that I did was swap the side panels of the case- for the left side of the case I didn't want dumb fan holes- luckily they were switchable. For the right side of the case the plan was to cut out the symbol of the Rebellion (what a suprise!)...
    [​IMG]

I printed sections of the symbol on four sheets of paper then taped it to the panel and traced it. Here is Stimpy surveying my work.
    [​IMG]

Went over the trace with a sharpie
    [​IMG]

Oops! :duh: to makethis cut I wanted to use my nibbler tool, and because the nibbler scratches up the side that tool is on, I had to redraw the symbol on the other side of the panel. (Cut me!)
    [​IMG]

I made a small opening with the dremel to fit the cutting part of the nibbler tool in started the cut. This is about 15 minutes of cutting at this point.
    [​IMG]