1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Small Form Factor via epia performance?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by globe, 26 Dec 2004.

1. globe

globe What's a Dremel?

are these cheapish via epias powerful enough to playback divx, xvid at reasonable source resolutions (tv rips, hdtv high qua rips)?

how about dvd?

i have little to no knowledge about them but saw how "cheap" these things are and im tempted to build a htpc computer out of a 100e epia-5000 (533MHz)

any links or personal experience? please share

2. Aa-chan

Aa-chan AA-CHAN

I've heard some say that they've found it to be unplayable, but I've also heard some say that it's fine. I think it's down to drivers, but I could be wrong.

3. globe

globe What's a Dremel?

i found a decent review of a epia m10000 mobo, its price is bit more (~160e) but it has an onboard mpeg2 decoder and a 1GHz cpu, and they tested it with divx, xvid and it played all np

(ill post the url when i get home from work, cant find it now :) )

4. Le Tordu

Le Tordu What's a Dremel?

5. Firehed

Firehed Why not? I own a domain to match.

Ive got an MII-10000 and no problems with anything.

6. johan

johan What's a Dremel?

Have any of you guys tried running a dedicated game server on a mini-ITX board? I'm thinking about getting a MII12000 to use as a htpc/gameserver.

While this model does have a full speed FPU I'm not 100% confident about it managing to run a dedicated game server. Anyone with experience? It would run a Call of Duty server with 12-16 players max.

.johan

7. LoneArchon

LoneArchon What's a Dremel?

I had a epia 800 and it play divx fine as well as DVDs the newer one have the mpeg 2 decoder on them that will help with DVDs

8. TheAnimus

TheAnimus Banned

indeed i had no problems with an EPIA-800!

it depends on the gfx drivers, if ur running linux, its a pain with the old drivers.