1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

custom alu/stainless steel tower. small update 7-02-05

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by khitsicker, 29 Jun 2005.

1. khitsicker

khitsicker What's a Dremel?

heh this is my first project log of any type so bare with me.

goal of the project is to create a custom alu tower with stainless sidepanels designed specifically for watercooling. this tower is gona be big. dimentions so far are 22" x 25" x 10" (l/h/d). i am focusing on lots of internal room for a large raditor and a iwaki md20rz pump with no pci slots lost due to the wc compnents. im doing this custom rather then modding an existing case because i cant find anything that really suits my needs. the case will have modular and removeable bays. a removable motherboard try. side panels on hinges. and a myriad of other features. this is my first time really workng with metal as well. ive built custom cases out of plexi before with varying results but this is the first time im trying for a case completly out of metal.

anyways on to the specs. i am migrating my current hardware which is installed and running on stock cooling in a temporary ghettotastic case.

amd fx53
    abit av8 3rdeye
    1gb corsair xms xl
    15krpm seagate aha 160 scsi hdd 36gb
    ati x800xt
    ultra xconnect 500w
    10x scsi dvd rom
    16x yamaha scsi cdr/rw

[​IMG]

told you it was ghetto.

anyways i have already started construction so far ive got the front panel and the drive bays and front supports hashed out.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    front panel before cutting
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    after cutting
    [​IMG]
    this ones kinda blurry but i messed up and cut too far ... oh well ill get to fixing it later ... i hope.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]