1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

which digital SLR camera?

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by craigey1, 19 Jul 2005.

1. craigey1

craigey1 Minimodder

Hi peeps,

I've been looking at upgrading my Fuji Finepix 4900Z for quite some time & have finally decided that I have to upgrade.

I'm not a professional photographer, but do understand the basics & occasionally get some rather good shots.

I'm currently looking at getting the Canon EOS 350D, but want to know which lenses etc I might need. Sometimes I'd be doing photos at airshows (so a good zoom, with a sharp image quality), although most will be scenary or group / portait photos.

anyone got any comments / suggestions / places to buy etc

Cheers

2. felix the cat

felix the cat Spaceman Spiff

well, some basic info, personally i would stick to either a canon (350D is the way to go tbh, i should have mine by the end of the week...hopefully :rolleyes: ) or a Nikon, but what it comes down to is what feels more comfortable to use by yourself or whoever will be using it...easiest way to find out is just walk to your local jessop's or LCE and just try them both out...

lens wise, if you do end up going for the canon rember that any lens you see advertised (eg 80-200mm) rember to multiply the zoom on these by roughly 1.5 to get the actual zoom (eg the above lense on a 350D will be a 120-300mm lens).

with lenses obviously the more you pay the better the quality, but with canon lenses even the basic one that comes with the 350D is pretty good...personally i am going to try and see if I can replace the standard 18-55mm with a 17-85mm (also comes with Image-Stabiliser) but its quite an increase in price...i will consider getting a proper zoom lens (ie 80-200) but seeing as I already own a 28-105 I might not bother.