1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding (Q-Tec != QTechnology) -> Ripped off!

Discussion in 'Modding' started by jezmck, 22 Jul 2005.

1. InSanCen

InSanCen Buckling Spring Fetishist

Replace with Quiet fan (I won't reccomend quiet fans, as anything is quiet compared to my Delta setup (an F16 will get a run for it's money).

When funds allow, replace the whole thing. They are, as stated, complete and Utter s**t. I've seen them take out systems, yes, whole systems, when they let go. Hell, I remember reading on the net that one let go, and the whole house burnt down as a result.

I've got one in work (550W Dual Fan, and I'm a tech), and when replaced with a generic cheap(15 quid), one, all problems with the system magically go away.

No need to go nuts on one, a nice Jeantech or Fortron Source (Same thing), will see you good, and they aren't hellishly expensive.

2. jezmck

jezmck Minimodder

oh balls, hadn't heard anything that bad about them.
    hope it's not that which randomly took out my onboard network today.

3. Alien

Alien What's a Dremel?

I don't have any experience of Jeantech myself, but if you want 1, you can get a 400w 1 from PC World for £33.99. Here's a tip, if you want something from PC World & you have 1 near you [apparently there's 2 in the land of scouse :) ] you can get the web price in store by just ringing up & reserving it 1st.

4. jezmck

jezmck Minimodder

I need a quiet one really, and those numbers are a little high.

5. TMM

TMM Modder

Just sell it to some noob and get yourself a real powersupply :naughty:

6. jezmck

jezmck Minimodder

nuts, i've already opened it up (ripped sticker) so that might be too obvious.
    (i could always just completely remove the sticker... :naughty: )

7. Ryszvaldo

Ryszvaldo Banned

Last edited: 1 Aug 2005
  8. jezmck

jezmck Minimodder

well, tbh, I don't need a particularly powerful psu, just need it to be quiet.