1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics Custom RGB LED

Discussion in 'Modding' started by m_ridd, 20 Sep 2005.

1. m_ridd

m_ridd What's a Dremel?

I've been advised in another forum ( :eeek: ) to try and get hold of a 16F84 series PIC.

I am completely new to PICs and programmers, so I would need a kit that would start me off. I'm looking to program a PIC to control RGB LEDs.

I have been told a need to use Pulse Width Modulation so that I can fade each colour of the LED to produce any colour I want.

Basically, I would like to use visual basic code to control the serial port to output a command somthing along the lines of "RGB[rrr],[ggg],[bbb]" (where [rrr], [ggg] and [bbb] are three digit values [from 0 - 255] for the colours red, green and blue) and the PIC decode it and powers the LEDs.

I wanted to use a PIC so that I could detach the circuit from the computer and the LEDs would stay the same colour.

Could anyone recommend me the things that I would need to produce a PIC/circuit capable of this.

(I know there are things similar to this on the forum and Google, but they just fade through colours, I would like to be able to set the colour using a serial command)

Thanks,
    Martin.

2. shotgunefx

shotgunefx What's a Dremel?

The easy way I think would be to grab a Olimex PIC-P18 board. It's got the crystal, voltage regulator and MAX232 for serial communications all set up. You only have to wire Tx, Rx to the right pins.

For a programmer, they have several at the above site, I'd probably go with the PIC-PG2C or the PIC-PG1 if you use the development board and want to do it in-circuit. You can find tons of plans to make your own programmer, but these are pretty cheap and you dont' have to worry if you're having problems if it's the circuit or the programmer.