1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux Root problems...

Discussion in 'Software' started by Lazlow, 26 Sep 2005.

1. Lazlow

Lazlow I have a dremel.

I'm very new to linux, so new that I've only really logged into my Ubuntu install 3 times - I've not had the time to mess about with it all.

I need help from those more experienced with Linux:

I'm trying to change the grub boot order, as at the moment the Ubuntu is the default boot, and it only hangs a few seconds in grub before it begins booting it. I'm trying to make my XP Pro install the primary boot, so that I don't need to sit by the keyboard every time my PC boots, just to select Windows.

So, I log into Ubuntu under my username/password. Navigate to filesystem>boot>grub>menu.lst

It looks as though I need to change the following lines:
    to:
    Where hd(0,2) is my Ubuntu install and hd(0,0) is Windows.

Is this correct? If so, can someone tell me how I'm meant to change the file, as it's read only. So I go to login as root, and the default login screen says I cannot login as root there. So I boot into the command line or whatever Ubuntu, and login as root. But that's about as far as my knowledge gets me.

If my hd0,0 part is correct, how do I alter the file, as root it seems is the only user who can alter it.

Sorry for the confusion, it's the best I can explain it. Linux is very slick, it's just difficult to get used to when you've been on Windows since 3.1...

2. BjD

BjD What's a Dremel?

Not quite, there should be a line in near the top defining the default menu item to boot. Mine is:

Code:
    #default listing to boot
    default 0

# timeout in secs
    timeout 10
    Counts from 0 btw ;) The line line you refer to defines where grub looks for the root filesystem for Ubuntu, and you don't want to change it ;) Root should be the only user who can modify it i think.