1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Lian Li PC-V1200B Removable Mobo Tray Mod

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Oxnard, 9 May 2006.

1. Oxnard

Oxnard What's a Dremel?

Ok, first off, I'm not THAT experienced with pc modding, but I am careful and a quick learner...

My idea is to modify the back of my Lian Li PC-V1200B by cutting a section of the back of the case out and attempting to fit in the removeable motherboard tray from a Lian Li PC-6070B.

This whole idea arose because I removed a PCI bracket support to feed 1/2 tubing into my case, then realized i'd cut the one for the agp slot :wallbash: , its been a nightmare dealing with it by using a simple zip tie to hold the card in place (I even fried a nice GPU when it slipped).

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

So my solution I propose is to modify my removeable motherboard from my PC-6070B to fit into the back of the PC-V1200B
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I had one dilema so far...deciding if i should use the tray's full back panel and use the 80mm fan (possibly adding a second one) OR try to cut it around the existing 120mm fan on the PC-V1200B, thing is, if I do, it causes an issue removing the cpu heatsink and possibly the ram (which doesn't really make the tray handily removeable)

I had one other idea, which is kinda a bummer, which was, rivet the removeable motherboard's PCI/IO face into the new case (kinda boring if you ask me)

So PLEASE offer your opinion as to what you would do in my shoes, thank you!

Last edited by a moderator: 16 May 2006
  2. Matt_Ingram

Matt_Ingram What's a Dremel?