1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Creating custom Recovery CD's

Discussion in 'Software' started by Regulator, 30 Jun 2006.

1. Regulator

Regulator What's a Dremel?

I have been looking for a way to make my own Recovery dvd for my fresh winxp and program install.

I spend way to much time reinstalling windows and all my programs on my computers.

I've been playing around with Acronis True Image 9.1 trial, and I can successfuly make a "Full Back" file,
    (sector by sector image of used space. Approx 3gb)
    but I can't make a bootable .iso file out it... or figure out a way to get Acronis to use DVD's instead of harddrives for back up medium. :confused:

Im new to this obviously, however, has anyone done something similar and what did you use?

Thanks

winxp pro
    250gb partitioned, 40gb part for windows,
    1gb OCZ ram, AMD64 3200+,

2. fev

fev Industry Fallout

i created my perfect system and created bootable cd's with Norton Ghost.

i've also created a "hands free" XP pro install dvd for a mate, it installs XP with the key already in, office 2003, sophos rah rah rah.

http://unattended.msfn.org/unattended.xp/ <- gives an excellent guide, well i could follow it so it must be easy

3. Hazardous

Hazardous What's a Dremel?

4. Regulator

Well shoot, now im in a debate, since this Slipstreamed process might be the way to go. How ever I would like all of my Windows settings, drivers and program settings to remain the same... so a recovery cd that is an "image" which can copy itself over to a hard drive is still my wish. I'll try this slip streaming out this weekend. Thanks.

Still if anyone has done a recovery disc with True Image or Norton ghost (without floppy discs) please let me know.

5. cpemma

cpemma Ecky thump