1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics Spectrum Analyzer

Discussion in 'Modding' started by |V| 4 L k i 3 R, 23 Jul 2002.

1. |V| 4 L k i 3 R

|V| 4 L k i 3 R Minimodder

I'm looking to put a spectrum analyzer on the front of a PC, sorta like what is found here Project Anemone

I had found a couple of kits that would do 2 bands, but was kinda hoping for 10.

Anyone have a circuit for this? or perhaps know of a place with a kit for it? I have some soldering experience, so either would be just fine.

2. linear

linear Minimodder

Welcome to the boards.
    Sadly, that kit is discontinued.

The schematics for it have been posted by animeguru, a forum member:

http://www.animeguru.com/images/4300n.gif
    http://www.animeguru.com/images/4300o.gif
    http://www.animeguru.com/images/4300p.gif
    http://www.animeguru.com/images/4300q.gif
    http://www.animeguru.com/images/4300r.gif

*but* you can't get the IC taht does the snazzy multiplexing, so those plans are basically for study purposes only it seems.

The basic design is there's a bank of 10 bandpass filters, and the multiplexer strobes them rather quickly and draws each band in the spectrum one by one, but it happens so fast you see the whole display lit. A rather clever circuit.

Possibly it could be reverse-engineered and reimplemented around an LM3914 bargraph driver.

3. SiliconHell

SiliconHell What's a Dremel?

One question here ...........
    What the hell is a spectrum analyser?

4. NiHiLiST

NiHiLiST New-born car whore

You know the funky little things on stereo equipment and umm, winamp (;)) that have a load of bargraph style lights that go up and down to the music? That's a spectrum analyser.

It seperates the difference frequency ranges of the music, and makes a barchart of them all to put it simply. Then update this 20 times a second (or some equally fast speed) and you've got a spectrum analyser.

5. SiliconHell