1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics USB outdoors

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Who_me_33, 28 Aug 2006.

1. Who_me_33

Who_me_33 What's a Dremel?

As the topic states, im wanting to run usb outdoors, and would like to know if im going about it the right way. What im planning on doing is using a usb wifi card, in a sealed inclosure, right on my antenna, (for connecting to a community wireless network. Im looking at buying this http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Printers/Other/auction-68331021.htm (its in NZ money) and on one end (the outside end) cutting the usb plug and socket off, and replacing it with ip65 rated rj45 connectors. Will this cause any problems with usb, or is it just a crazy idea. Because im trying to do it on the cheap, (im a uni student) and the next cheapest way is to buy wireless bridge, and put it on the antenna, which drives the price up a fair bit, and I already have a spare usb wifi card.
    Thanks
    Nick.

2. tm36usa

tm36usa What's a Dremel?

Usb isnt rated to go as far as you want it to go. Ive found that usb devices wont work past around 12' of extention cable. (had a 10ft extention+3ft on the device) There are other options avaliable. I saw on my last trip to the computer store a device that would let you extend usb 150ft with 2 powered adaptor boxes but it was $160 :eeek: Why do you need the usb wifi dongle so high? Or you could build one of these (woot for tooting my own horn :D ) http://www.instructables.com/id/EQARE4I72GEPUCHTHU/

With that setup I was able to connect to an AP over 1,000 feet away.

3. hydro_electric_655

hydro_electric_655 Dremelly Dude

I like the hightech cooking utensil antenna. But I think you could just buy a couple of those usb hubs and just run one every like 5 feet and that would give enough power to boost the signal. Cheap as dirt too.

4. tm36usa

tm36usa What's a Dremel?