1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Project: Big Loud Server

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by crazylittleman, 16 Sep 2006.

1. crazylittleman

crazylittleman What's a Dremel?

Hey all
    This is my first project log so it might be a bit crap.
    Well my current generic tower case has got to a point where it can't hold anymore hard drives so I've decided to build a file storage server from scratch.
    The basic idea is a duel PSU 14 3.5" drive tower case. It will be based around an aluminum frame with aluminum chequerplate panels on all sides.
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Should end up something like this.
    The basic dimensions are 450x230x580 (L x W x H). The area of the side panel marked in blue will be a MeshX type vent. Cooling will be via 4 120mm intake fans in the front, 1 120mm exhaust fan in the top and 2 92mm fans in the rear. As well as exhaust through the PSUs.
    This is the basic frame that will support all the components.
    [​IMG]

This is basically how the corner joins will work.
    [​IMG]
    This design enables all gluing surfaces to be hidden on the inside of the frame as well as maximizing contact area for the glue to ensure a strong bond.
    Anyhoo on we go...

The Frame
    The frame is based around 20mmx20mmx3mm aluminum L rail. It is then bonded using pop rivets and Araldite. This produces joins stronger then the aluminum between them.
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]
    This is basically how the top of the frame turned out first with just the basic frame and then with the Hard drive supports in place.
    The original idea was to countersink all the rivets to allow the panels to sit flush but that idea didn't turn out well so I ended up just grinding them down with a dremel.
    [​IMG]
    (The flash kinda over did its self.)

Hard Drive Supports