1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My New Pc Plans

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Xploit, 24 Oct 2006.

1. Xploit

Xploit What's a Dremel?

At the moment I have a Packard Bell iMedia. It's nothing special. It's an Intel 3.06ghz Pentium 4. Not 64 bit or Dual Core just a good old normal processor. It's got a 160gb 7200rpm HD and an Nvidia 6200 256mb Graphix Card. Like I said nothing special. I'm upgrading it, well, selling it and buying all new parts and building it. Here are all the parts :
    [​IMG]
    Note: I already have an ATi X800GT Graphics card to go into it just if you're wondering why there's no graphics card. This is my first time building a PC and was wondering if this is a good price for all the goods I am getting and if anyone knows any articles with steps and advice on how to build a pc....Thanks for your time...

2. M4RTIN

M4RTIN What's a Dremel?

you will be told by everyone to buy a intel core2duo processor. basically because the lowest model, the e6300 allendale will be more powerful than that amd with a mild bit of overclocking and cost £100 less. you will have to sped more on a motherboard but you will still be saving £50-70

3. Xploit

Xploit What's a Dremel?

Ok Thanks M4RTIN. I am a gamer so I would prefer to go for an AMD....But I will also Consider the Intel equivalent now. What would be the Intel Equivalent of the 5200 as you say the Intel can be OC'ed to be similar to the 5200, but the 5200 can be OC'ed to be equivalent to an FX-62 in Terms of clock speed?

4. M4RTIN

M4RTIN What's a Dremel?

the 6300 can be overclocked significantly past a fx-62 level of performance. in games you wont really see a difference between the two processors but with the allendale being a lot more powerful, cooler running, use less power and costs a lot less it should be a sure decision.