1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possible new build, need help.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sKuLLs, 28 Dec 2006.

1. sKuLLs

sKuLLs What's a Dremel?

Alright, well for christmas I got an E6400 (which I hadn't even asked for, but I'm not complaining). Now I've been using an amd 3200+ (32 bit) chip for the past 3 or 4 years, so I have not been paying that much attention to anything new, because I jsut didn't have the funds to get PCI-express or any new video cards. Well that has now changed. After reading a lot of reviews (here, anandtech, etc) I think I've pretty much found what I want as far as building a mid to high level gaming system, however I am still in need of a power supply and any opinions on what I've already choosen would be appreciated.

Motherboard:
    ASUS P5N-E SLI Nvidia nForce 650i SLI ATX ($129.99, USD)

Memory:
    OCZ Platinum Rev 2 2GB (2x1GB) DDR2 800 ($245.99 before rebate, USD)

Video card:
    XFX PVT71GUQL3 GeForce 7900GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 ($229.99 before rebate, USD)

Hard Drive:
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s ($79.99, USD)

Total price (before rebates): $685.96

The main reason I choose the Asus P5N-E SLI was because I plan on upgrading my computer with another 7900GT and running them in SLI. i do realize that there have been some issues in the past with the nvidia 600i chipset series with sata raid and memory timings, but I believe both issues were solved (correct me if I'm wrong).

Along with all this, I still need a powersupply which I have no idea on what to get. I don't exactly have a capped budget, so any recommendations would be accepted, but I'd prefer to keep everything as low priced as possible.

2. Hugo

Hugo Ex-TrustedReviews Staff

I'd personally suggest you consider something from the X1950 Pro range like this Asus card