1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

E6600 - which Mobo/Ram - attn Highland3r

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by WhiskeyAlpha, 3 Jan 2007.

1. WhiskeyAlpha

WhiskeyAlpha What's a Dremel?

I know there's a hundred and one posts like this guys so I'll keep it brief:

I'm just about to purchase a E6600 and plan to overclock reasonably heavily (I'm on water). I have no 'hands on' experience with the conroe chips at all but I wanted to try and get in the 3.5Ghz - 4.0Ghz region.

Is this realistic or over-optimistic?

I'm having trouble picking the best RAM/Mobo combination to compliment the CPU so here's a brief list I've compiled:

Mobo
    ====

Asus P5B Deluxe (965) - £123.36
    Asus P5W DH Deluxe Wi-fi (975) - £152.74
    Gigabyte DQ6 (965) - £143.34

Ram
    ====

Corsair 2GB DDR2 XMS2 Dominator PC2-6400C4 TwinX (2x1GB) - £199.74
    GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC6400C4 800MHz Ultra Low Latency DDR2 Dual Channel Kit - £173.89

I've read Highland3rs stickies, which were very useful. It's just that now it's had time to settle down a bit and lots of people have experience with these CPUs, I thought it wouldn't hurt to get a quick opinion on what's hot and what's not.

So, the best Mobo/Ram combination for an E6600 on water? Fire away.... :D :D

Last edited: 4 Jan 2007
  2. WeldZilla

WeldZilla What's a Dremel?

That is a tough question. I run the P5W DH with a 6600 I have a fantastic watercooling system and I am able to run 24/7 at 425 fsb @ 3825mhz. I see in your sig you have a 7900GT. with a conroe pushing my 7900GT I score 152,000 at Stock!! on aquamark. over 185,000 OC'd on the card. Here are my benches, they will pretty much knock your socks off.
    WZ_3d03 WZ_PC05
    WZ_2001SE
    3D05
    3D06
    AQMK3

As far as memory goes, I recommend ONLY G.Skill PC 6400 HZ with the D9GMH chips
    I can easily run up to 430 fsb 1:1 with my timings set at 3-3-3-4 you won't get near that with anything else.