1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A small bit of advice please

Discussion in 'General' started by warrmr, 11 Feb 2007.

1. warrmr

warrmr What's a Dremel?

i havent posted on here for a few years now and want some advice/help from you guys.

i have been working in pubs bars and kitchens for the past 5 years and dont think i have got to far. i have lost all drive and motivation for the trade now apart from the salery is crap.

so i now its only taken me the best part of 6 years to work this out. but i have decided i want to get into computers and work within the industry.

so i have sent off for some information from advent training, i had a meeting with a adviser there and he reccomended i do an MCSE give me all the details and i was lke ok so whats it gonna cost £4750 was the answer now that i cant afford at the moment.
    i talked it over with my mum and she doesnt think getting an MCSE will get me into IT as every employer wants experiance. so i have hit a brick wall.

i have done things backwards and without thinking about how to go about this.i moved back home and left a job that was paying £250 a week to live at home and to a job thats paying £150 a week. so im kinda stuck.

my question is whats the best way to get my foot on the lader to get me over this wall. as i cant afford a MS qualifactaion and dont know where to look and to what companys for help.

i dont do customer service or help desk that would frustrate me and i dont have the patience for that.
    ideally i would like to go into networking mainley the design/setup and security. not just a sys admin.

thanx guys Matt

2. RTT

RTT #parp

With no relevant qualifications, joining first line support is really your only way into the industry. You have to start somewhere :)

For the record, an MSCE is unlikely to give you much of a leg-up either.

3. Fod

Fod what is the cheesecake?