1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Graphics What res settings for F.E.A.R. in Core Duo-2.0GHz/ATI x1300w256MB-shared/1Gb RAM?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Yubalostia, 15 Feb 2007.

1. Yubalostia

Yubalostia What's a Dremel?

Sorry for the obviously noob question, but I want play F.E.A.R. @ 1280*768(like my screen) on my tabletPC with the specs mentioned above in the title.

I don't know what could be better:
    1. Play @ 1280*768 with everthing (fx, shaders, etc.) in "minimum"
    2. Or lower resolution and add more fx and shaders and higher res textures

I can settle with 70% frames above 25fps. Maybe resolution is not such an important thing? I'm new to this gaming on a PC and I'm hooked. I already installed Omega drivers with no noticeable effect... I think.

The most important thing for me is the window-shattering explosions :eeek: , along with playable fps... maybe I could let the game decide? Thanx! :rock:

2. airchie

airchie What's a Dremel?

If its an LCD screen I wouldn't ever personally play at anything but the native res.
    If that means setting everything to minimum then so be it.
    Or you could look to upgrade the gfx card to something a little more capable... :)

3. Yubalostia

thanx

well yeah, it's an LCD screen, so ok, native it is then. Now, I am interested in upgrading the gfx card of my laptop, but I believe it's impossible, is it not? hmmm, how could I do such a thing? thanx for the answer. :)

4. Mathmarauder

Mathmarauder What's a Dremel?

I have similar specs and it runs fine on med/high at 1280 by 1024, thats with shadows disabled because I think they look wonky. Hope that helps.

5. DarkLord7854

DarkLord7854 What's a Dremel?

I always play at 1024 by 768 on my 19" LCD even if it's widescreen (native: 1440 x 900). There usually isn't that great of a difference between the resolutions if you can't even have decent smooth textures

6. Austin