1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Gaming Computer For an Old Gamer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Siskodata, 22 Feb 2007.

1. Siskodata

Siskodata What's a Dremel?

Hi

This is my first post on this forum although I have been visiting daily Bit-Tech for the last 2 years I never had the courage to write anything on the forum. I am a 40 year old gamer from Malta. I started back in 1984 with my Spectrum 48K, went next with an Amiga 500 Amiga 1200 then started on PCs. I play the Battlefield series from Battlefield 1942 to the latest Battlefield 2142.

At the moment I have an old MSI 648F Neo motherboard with a Pentium 4 3.02 GHz Northwood socket 478, 2GB RAM and a Gainward 6800GT Graphic card connected to a 19” Benq FP937s’. Yes its about time I upgrade and although I built many computers in my life this is the first time I will build an true gaming computer or so I think.

I am looking for a future proof gaming computer with some overclocking but would not like to use any water cooling just air cooling. Here is my list, I just want to know everyone’s opinion on this setup especially on the motherboard.

Motherboard: eVGA nForce 680i SLI or Asus P5N32-E SLI NF680i
    RAM: Corsair 2Gb TwinX DDR2 XMS2 Dominator, PC8500
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
    Graphics card: EVGA 768MB 8800GTX KO Superclocked PCI-E 2000MHz GPU 626MHz (1 for now but will get another for SLI in the future)
    Hard Disks: 3 Seagate Barracuda 250Gb (In Raid 5 giving 500Gb with redundance)
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 1000W EG1000EWL V2 (for SLI and the 3 hard disks)

For now I am going to keep the monitor but will upgrade to a 21” widescreen and will then upgrade to a 2nd graphics card with SLI.

I would like to hear any comments on if my gear is right or not. I do not want to spend so much and have a computer that is too much powerful or a slow one.

Thanks beforehand for the help.

2. trig