1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dual processor motherboards - is there really much point?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Liquid K9, 1 Sep 2002.

1. Liquid K9

Liquid K9 Human programmer.. heh

(NOTE: I'm a newB to these forums, forgive me if I seem.. stupid)

Heres the question: if you were to buy a dual-processor motherboard, along with two 2200mhz AMD XP processors, could you really ever get the most out of the processors?

My main use for my PC is programming (C++, JamagicScript, and a click n' drag style game-maker), Gaming (Deus Ex, Tribes MOH, you know, the usual..), hell I do everything a pc is supposed to do (convert DVD's to pocket pc-size etc). But I'm worried I'd be wasting my hard umm.. :worried: 'earned' money on getting a motherboard with less features but two CPU's. Could I ever *really* be able to tell the difference between my current (gateway crap, by the way :rolleyes: - hense the reason why I'm building my own PC! :dude:) AMD 1202mhz (dont ask me how that 2 mhz got there, thats what my pc says!) CPU and two AMD XP 2200mhz CPU's (coming to a whopping 4.4ghz nevermind any 'overclocking buisness').

2. Digital Sin

Digital Sin What's a Dremel?

i have a duallie, it wont destroy the 3dmark bench but it will certainly impress you with its fluid behavior. typically you lose 500-800 3dmarks when you go dual, and the memory performance is downright awful. however, it is amazingly powerful when it comes to multitasking, productivity, CAD, editing, SMP apps, and getting work done. :dude:

i can get 11,000 3dmarks with my MP1900s, stock, no tweaks whatsoever.

3. ejmac

ejmac What's a Dremel?