1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which PC?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Rahneshin, 25 Sep 2007.

1. GuitarBizarre

GuitarBizarre <b>banned</b>

Graphics you can speed up. RAM speeds are tied to the FSB however, which is linked to CPU speed, so you'd have to do some jiggery pokery there, with severely limited Overclocking options.

Honestly however, that silent knight hasn't been the recipient of many good reviews, and has caused a reviewer or two several cut fingers.

In all honesty, Heres my opinion on heatsinks right now.

For Extreme no holds barred overclocking:
    Scythe Ninja
    Thermalright Ultra 120/ 120 Extreme with an at least 60CFM fan.
    Enzotech Ultra X

For silent operation:
    Zalman 9700
    Noctua UH12F

For light weight (IE, doesn't need an alternative motherboard bracket. I'm no expert on this market segment though, so other heatsinks can be recommended here by pretty much anyone)
    Thermalright Ultima 90

2. Bbq.of.DooM

Bbq.of.DooM Custom User Title

I suggest the Scythe Ninja, Ultra120 extreme, and Ultima 90. They're silent And provide the best cooling around.

3. GuitarBizarre

Fixed.

4. Rahneshin

Rahneshin What's a Dremel?

Thanks for the opinions.

Are there any advantages to "pre-overclocked" GTX cards made by BFG or eVGA?

I'm aware of eVGA's "Step-up" program.

Last edited: 28 Sep 2007
  5. Woodstock

Woodstock So Say We All

there just an overclocked graphics card with a warranty and quite often don't have the nvidia reference cooler

6. GuitarBizarre

OC'd graphics cards = Not worth it. It doesn't yield enough performance benefit. Unless your idea of a good time is repeatedly running 3Dmark.

Basically by the time your stock clocked card is out of date, overclocking it won't actually give you enough of a performance difference to stick with it.

Besides, theres nothing a GTX wont play right now anyway.

7. Gravemind123