1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics Any Electronics buffs got a minute...

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Dr_kazza, 9 Sep 2002.

1. Dr_kazza

Dr_kazza What's a Dremel?

I found some really nice switches on Maplin but they are push to make switches rather than toggle... i.e. they're like a doorbell not like a TV on switch.

If anyone has a minute could you design a pretty simple circuit for me... I'm after one of the switches to toggle a CC on/off...
    i.e. you start off with the CC off and press the button (to send a signal) and it toggles to on.

If you use any IC... could you let me know the name/maplin number cos I'm not very good with this stuff... finally got the guts to play with an opto isolator which was cool and worked :) so I'm not completely inept.

2. nesbit37

nesbit37 Guest

Moved to electronics---

There really isn't much need for a circuit to design for that but if you post the switch's part number it would help. We do need to know if the switches are momentary. single pull single throw, single pull double throw ect. I can tell you now no ic's will be used. If all you want it to do is turn the cc on and off it should be the switch, the cc's inverter and 2 or 3 wires (depending on switch type).

If you want a decent explenation with some good complementery graphics on how simple switches work you should check out this web site

-Nesbit

3. Dr_kazza

The switches I'm after are the CL89W which apparently look a lot like the MG74R except they have an LED.

Apparently they are SPNO (that's momentary right?) but I want it to act like a light switch... i.e. press once circuit on.. press again circuit off.

Thx

kazza

P.s. I only chose those switches because I HATE the flick switches that most people use for baybusses and couldn't find any nice steel/Aluminium switches/buttons to match the case

4. eaterofpies

eaterofpies What's a Dremel?